The Campaign For DA

1.11.2015

Welcome To Controversy-ville



"If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."

Crazy rule. Correct call. (Welcome to my world: Dealing with insane laws on a daily basis.)

21 comments:

Anonymous said...

My issue with the rule is that the "going to the ground" part of the rule overrides the "the player is down by contact rule" with the ball in their possession. Bryant was clearly down with the ball in control, yet when the ball hit the ground after he was down, that nullified the catch.

That's the problem with the rule.

Anonymous said...

The NFL should change the shield to read WWF.

Double Fake Bronco Lubich

Anonymous said...

Skippy, you are a moron,- he had control until the ground caused the loss of control.

Anonymous said...

Bad call. The process of the catch was already complete. Catch, two feet down. He was making a football move after catching the ball by reaching for the goal line. How many times have you seen players lose the ball after jamming it into the pylon, only to have it be good?

Anonymous said...

why isn't the play over when his knees contact the ground? why is what happens after that relevant at all?

df nobody

Anonymous said...

Sorry, I just don't see it that way. He caught the ball, made two steps, then went to the ground. Ball should have been down on 1/2 yd line. It did not come loose until he was already down, and even then the ball never touched the ground. Bad call and a terrible way to lose an entire season.

Anonymous said...

He caught the ball and pulled it to his chest. Then took two strides and fell forward stretching the ball out to break it past the goal line. The end of the ball make contact with the chalk before it was knocked lose after entering the end zone.

Anonymous said...

How many wins will the boys get this year? Idiot.

Anonymous said...

Butch Johnson's touchdown in the Cowboys and Broncos Super Bowl. He completely dropped it and left it on the rug. The Oilers touchdown that would have stopped the Steelers dynasty that was as clear as day and not given. The immaculate reception. And so many other "legendary" moments in pro football that would have been different if HD and replay would have been in effect. The Steelers would not have won four Super Bowls, for example.

Anonymous said...

6:34

Your are correct. I have been saying that myself.

He had three steps and made a reach for the goal line. Not sure how thats incomplete. If the two steps rule doesnt matter then can you go 50 yards, fall and get a incompletion?

Anonymous said...

maybe jerry's check bounced

Anonymous said...

Agree with 509, he had possession and control.
BAD CALL.

Anonymous said...

Possession is 9/10 of the Law!


DF Roadside Lawyer

Anonymous said...

If that had been a pound of cocaine, would he be considered to have possession and control?

Anonymous said...

Looks to me the ball crossed the plane of the goal line before his arm, not the ball, contacted the ground.. TOUCHDOWN.....

Anonymous said...

This is why I dont watch much football anymore.

Ref's constantly making screw ups like this.

Anonymous said...

Some people don't understand the rule even yet. The ground can cause an incomplete pass, but not cause a fumble. The player did not control the ball after hitting the ground...does not matter at all if the player was already down. The rule is ridiculous....but there are other equally ridiculous. The inconsistent interpretation of the targeting rule in college football is a travesty.

DF Vince Lombardi said...

BOTTOM LINE....PASS RULED INCOMPLETE: NO TOUCHDOWN, NO COMPLETED PASS, NO MORE DOWNS, GAME OVER! GREEN BAY WINS!!!!!! AGAIN!!!!

Anonymous said...

10:08, we know the rule but he controlled the ball before he hit the ground. He pulled it to his upper chest and then reached out with it to penetrate the end zone. That is control. Then he hit the ground.

Anonymous said...

If Boys made a touchdown the Packers had more than 3 minutes left on the clock, trust me Aaron would slice the defense, it's not like it was the last play of the game....Packers would still win. tum ta tum ta tum.....Go Pack Go!

Anonymous said...

The rule stated above is not the rule the should have been used in this case.

There are there parts to a catch...
NFL Rules Article 3 Completed Pass

1. control and....check
2. 2 feet in bounds or other body part and....check
3. maintains control of ball long enough to make a common act of the game.....catches with two hands, controls it to switch to left hand all while taking three steps and then stretching for the goal line.

That was a catch according to the rules.

Would the Cowboys have won? Who knows....three minutes left and GB has two time outs but at least it would have been up to the teams.

By the way, this ref was the same ref on the Calvin Johnson call.